Name of Organization: Nevada Resilience Advisory Committee Date and Time of Meeting: Tuesday, November 19, 2019 – 9:00 A.M.

Carson City venue:	Carson City address:
Legislative Counsel Bureau	401 S. Carson Street
Legislative Building – Room 1214	Carson City, NV 89701
Las Vegas venue:	Las Vegas address:
Legislative Counsel Bureau	555 E. Washington Avenue
Grant Sawyer Building – Room 4401	Las Vegas, NV 89101
Elko venue:	Elko address:
Great Basin College	1500 College Parkway
McMullen Hall – Room 102	Elko, NV 89801

## This meeting will be video-conferenced and/or teleconferenced between the locations above beginning at 9:00 A.M.

The Nevada Resilience Advisory Committee (Committee) may take action on items marked "For Possible Action." Items may be taken out of the order presented on the agenda at the discretion of Chair. Items may be combined for consideration by the Committee at the discretion of the Chair. Items may be pulled or removed from the agenda at any time.

**Note:** Witnesses wishing to have their complete testimony/handouts included in the permanent record of this meeting should provide a written or electronic copy to the Committee administrative support staff. Minutes of the meeting are produced in a summary format and are not verbatim.

- 1. Call to Order and Roll Call Chair, Chief Justin Luna, State Administrative Agent (SAA), and Vice-Chair, Deputy Chief John Steinbeck, Urban Area Administrator (UAA).
- 2. Public Comment (Discussion Only) No action may be taken upon a matter raised under this item of the agenda until the matter itself has been specifically included on an agenda as an item upon which action may be taken. Public comments may be limited to three minutes per person at the discretion of the Chair. Comments will not be restricted based on viewpoint.
- **3. Approval of Minutes** (Discussion/For Possible Action) Chair, Chief Justin Luna, SAA, and Vice-Chair, Deputy Chief John Steinbeck, UAA. The Committee will discuss and review the minutes of the October 8, 2019, Committee meeting. The Committee may vote to amend and approve or approve the minutes as provided.

- 4. Nevada Resilience Advisory Committee (Committee) Bylaws Review (Discussion Only) Chair, Chief Justin Luna, SAA, and Vice-Chair, Deputy Chief John Steinbeck, UAA. The Committee will be presented with the amended bylaws that were approved during the October 8, 2019, Committee meeting.
- 5. NV Energy Public Safety Outage Management Program (Discussion Only) Chris Hofmann, PMP, NV Energy Director of Grid Reliability and Operations. Mr. Hofmann will discuss NV Energy's efforts to help protect its customers and the communities of Mt. Charleston and Lake Tahoe from wildfires and extreme weather, as well as, other efforts to mitigate wildland fires across Nevada. The discussion will also include Senate Bill 329, which requires an electric utility to submit a natural disaster protection plan.
- 6. Seismic Risk Recommendations (Discussion/For Possible Action) Dr. Craig dePolo, Research Geologist, Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology, University of Nevada, Reno, Mackay School of Mines. Dr. dePolo will present Nevada's seismic risks and potential recommendations related to earthquake public awareness, unreinforced masonry buildings, early warning systems, hazard studies, and response training. The Committee will discuss and may vote on the development of earthquake-specific recommendations to be included in the annual assessment and report to be completed in December of 2019.
- 7. Follow up on the State Behavioral Health Disaster Plan (Discussion Only) Dr. Stephanie Woodard, Senior Advisor on Behavioral Health, Nevada Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH), and Dr. Darcy Davis, PhD, MSW, Psychologist III, DHHS DPBH. Drs. Woodard and Davis will provide a follow up on the discussion from the July Committee meeting, relating to the new requirement for DHHS to maintain a Behavioral Health Disaster Plan for the state. The Committee will review the draft plan developed with feedback from the July Committee discussion.
- 8. Overview of the Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2019 Pre-Disaster Mitigation Grant Program (Discussion Only) Suz Coyote, Recovery and Mitigation Supervisor and Janell Woodward, State Hazard Mitigation Officer, Division of Emergency Management (DEM). The Committee will be provided with an overview of the FFY19 Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) Grant Program, including Nevada's allocation, type of eligible projects, grant requirements, and applicants' requirements to present to the Committee at the January 2020 meeting to be eligible for competitive PDM grant funding.
- 9. Discussion of Emergency Management Performance Grant (EMPG) Allocations (Discussion Only) Chair, Chief Justin Luna, SAA, and Kelli Anderson, Emergency Management Program Manager, DEM. The Committee will discuss the Emergency Management Performance Grant (EMPG) program, its allocations for statewide programs, and historical information for how this allocation model was developed. The Committee will also discuss the current EMPG allocation model in consideration of establishing an improved allocation model.
- **10. Discussion of Meeting Schedule for Calendar Year 2020 –** (Discussion Only) Chair, Chief Justin Luna, SAA, and Vice-Chair Deputy Chief John Steinbeck, UAA. The Committee will discuss the meeting schedule for calendar year 2020.

11. Public Comment – (Discussion Only) – No action may be taken upon a matter raised under this item of the agenda until the matter itself has been specifically included on an agenda as an item upon which action may be taken. Public comments may be limited to three minutes per person at the discretion of the Chair. Comments will not be restricted based on viewpoint.

## **12. Adjourn –** (Discussion/For Possible Action)

This is a public meeting. In conformance with the Nevada Public Meeting Law, this agenda was posted or caused to be posted on or before 9:00 a.m. on November 14, 2019, at the following locations:

Legislative Council Bureau, 555 E. Washington Avenue, Las Vegas, NV; Legislative Council Bureau, 401 S. Carson Street, Carson Street, Carson City, NV; Nevada State Emergency Operations Center, 2478 Fairview Drive, Carson City, NV, Clark County Fire Department, 575 E. Flamingo Road, Las Vegas, NV; Clark County Government Center, 500 S. Grand Central Parkway, Las Vegas, NV; Great Basin College, 1500 College Parkway, Elko, NV; and

## Posted to the following websites:

- Nevada Department of Public Safety's Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security Public Meeting Notifications/Information Website: DEM Public Meeting Website at http://dem.nv.gov/DEM/2019 Resilience Commission/
- Nevada Public Notice Website: www.notice.nv.gov

We are pleased to make reasonable accommodations for members of the public who are disabled. If special arrangements for the meeting are necessary, or if you need to obtain meeting materials, please notify Meagan Werth-Ranson, Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security, 2478 Fairview Drive, Carson City, Nevada 89701 or (775) 687-0300. 24-hour advance notice is requested.